‘Resurrected’ Hard-Boiled Eggs

Egg pesto topping

One of the things I love about Bangkok supermarkets is the wide selection of cooked food they offer (as if the delicious street food were not enough, right?), from the more complicated dishes only a Thai could properly whip up to the very simple ones, like hard-boiled eggs. And I’m not talking about those with their shells intact. I’m referring to hard-boiled eggs that have been, uh, ‘de-shelled’. Talk about convenience (spoonfeeding, anyone?).

Well, honestly, I rarely see hard-boiled eggs that have been peeled off being sold in supermarkets so when I saw a pack of three on the shelf all by its lonesome, I allowed myself to get tempted and picked it up I did. At the back of my mind, though, I was thinking, “I hope that whoever handled these washed his/her hands well.” I actually looked at the staff preparing food in the cooked food section and was relieved to see they were using plastic gloves to handle the food.

To cut the story short, I took the eggs home, ate one for breakfast the next day, and forgot about the remaining two until two days later! I panicked when I spied the cold eggs at the corner of the fridge and smelled them, breathing a sigh of relief when I didn’t detect any unusual scent. Neither did I see any molds. Good sign. But I didn’t want to wait anymore and decided to do something about it right then and there. The result is a fully revived, super-easy dish that you could use as a bread or crackers topping, or perhaps even a chunky salad dressing.

Chopped hard-boiled eggs

Ingredients:

2 hard-boiled eggs, chopped (I like it rustic and chunky)

1 medium-sized tomato, cubed

1 teaspoon multi-grain mustard

2 teaspoons pesto (all I had was a bottled one)

2-3 teaspoons lemon juice (or 2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar)

3 cloves garlic, minced

fresh dill (or any herb you like)

salt to taste

black pepper

baguette slices

Chopped tomatoes

Procedure:

1. Put the chopped eggs in a bowl.

2. Add the rest of the ingredients. Mix well.

Serve as bread or crackers topping, as raw vegetables or tortilla chip dips, as a chunky salad dressing, as a lettuce wrap filling. You can even add avocados to this. I like putting Sriracha sauce for that extra zing. You can serve chilled, if you like. Humpty-Dumpty would be very proud. But wait, the popular rhyme never said Humpty-Dumpty was an egg. Hmmm…

Egg pesto with bread

 

Leave a Reply

