Grapes and Tomatoes Salad with Fruit Jam Vinaigrette

Homemade Fruit Jam Vinaigrette

You know it’s time for another salad recipe when, after the holidays, you’re left with leftover this and leftover that. Whether these are vegetables or fruits, or meat, sitting cold and forlorn in the refrigerator, it is a must to not let them wither and die. A couple of days after the New Year celebrations is the best time to either do a semi- or full-blown detox anyway. I opted for the former.

It’s been a tradition for me (and I’m sure others as well) to always have grapes on hand for the New Year. In my country, grapes (or anything sweet and round-shaped) represent abundance and should be eaten at the stroke of midnight on New Year’s Day. So, of course, I’ll be having a bowlful of grapes, some mandarin oranges, plus my other favorites – cheese, nuts and wine – for this occasion. Sometimes, I’d have some parma ham or other deli meats on the side too.

Fruit jam vinaigrette dressing

Fast forward to a couple of days later and, not suprising, I still had a bunch of grapes that I needed to finish so I did the next best thing — whip up a quick, light and tasty salad. This time around, I decided to make jam vinaigrette for this salad. Since I’ll be having a fruity salad with a bit of spice, I thought the sweetness of a fruit jam vinaigrette tempered by olive oil and flavored by a hint of acidity of balsamic vinegar would be perfect for the salad. Here’s what you will need:

2 tablespoons mixed fruit jam (or any fruit jam you have in your pantry)

1-2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

1 teaspoon whole grain mustard

a dash or two of lemon juice

salt and pepper to taste

(If you like the pungent taste of garlic, then you may add a clove or two of crushed garlic. But be careful as garlic flavors can be overpowering.)

IMG_7204

For the salad, here’s what I foraged in my pantry and fridge:

Teardrop tomatoes

Salad greens

Seedless grapes

White onion

Celery

Mandarin oranges (optional)

(You can add other fruits and vegetables if you like.)

With mandarin oranges

Well, all you really have to do is to mix all the vinaigrette ingredients well. Adjust the measurements according to the consistency you want. Arrange the salad ingredients in a bowl and top with your homemade vinaigrette dressing. Bon appetit!

 

Leave a Reply

