Savory Side Dish and/or Dip for Yogurt Lovers

Yogurt with tomatoes

I love yogurt โ€” plain yogurt, that is. Here in the Land of Smiles, I buy either the thick and creamy Greek-style yogurt or the ‘lighter’ version named Yolida. Great as snacks, I would eat spoonfuls of yogurt anytime of the day. Like I told my friend and yoga classmate Jean, who also loves yogurt, I would also mix nuts, dried fruits and honey (or, if available, blackstrap molasses) if I needed something more filling. Just like this one here.

On days that I am craving for something more savory, I turn to yogurt’s versatility. Here’s my usual go-to yogurt concoction on days when I need a light and refreshing side dish to either grilled meat, fried fish, steamed vegetables, or for some good ol’ chips. I will not put measurements here because you can never go wrong with this recipe.

Ingredients:

Tomatoes, chopped according to preference

Coriander, chopped

Onion or shallots, minced

Garlic, minced (optional)

Plain yogurt

Salt and pepper to taste

Lemon juice

Chopped tomatoes

Chopped corianderChopped onionsDollop of yogurtAll you really have to do is to mix them up well in a bowl. Add salt and pepper to taste. A dash or two of lemon juice will lift up the flavors. You can even add your own herbs and spices here. If you’re not too keen on the tangy flavors of yogurt, you can even sweeten it up with beetroots. Just prepare for a red-colored dish though. Anyhow, I will let the photos do the ‘talking’. Bon appรฉtit!

Creamy yogurt side dish

2 thoughts on “Savory Side Dish and/or Dip for Yogurt Lovers

    • Yes, it’s a variation of these famous dips we love… it’s also a variation of the Indian raita and also is a cousin to the tomato salsa ๐Ÿ™‚ I love any dish that has tomatoes in it, as you may have guessed by now hahaha

      Like

Leave a comment